ters and 21 Militia Districts located as follows: Esquimalt, Vancouver and Victoria; Edmonton, Southern Alberta, Saskatchewan and Winnipeg; Hamilton, London, North Bay, Ottawa, Toronto and Windsor; Montreal and Quebec; and West Nova Scotia, Cape Breton, West New Brunswick, East New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. Mobile Command Militia is charged with providing trained individuals for augmentation and reinforcement of the Regular Force, providing trained sub-units to support the field force for the defence of Canada and the maintenance of internal security, providing trained personnel for the augmentation of the civil emergency operations organization, and forming the base on which the Regular Force could be expanded for service in an emergency.

3.7.2.2 Maritime Command

All Canadian Maritime Forces are under the command of the Commander, Maritime Command, whose headquarters is in Halifax. The Deputy Commander is the Commander, Maritime Forces Pacific with headquarters in Esquimalt. The role of Maritime Command is to defend Canadian interests from assault by sea, to support measures to protect Canadian sovereignty, to support Canadian military operations as required and to conduct search and rescue operations within the Atlantic and Pacific Search and Rescue Areas (roughly the Atlantic provinces and British Columbia).

As at December 1975, the following vessels were in service in Maritime Command: 20 Destroyer Escorts/Destroyer Escorts Helicopter Equipped including four new Iroquois Class Helicopter Destroyers, three Operational Support Ships, three Oberon Class Submarines, six Bay Class Coastal Patrol Vessels (employed as training vessels), and two Escort Repair Vessels (retained in service as alongside workshops and temporary accommodation vessels).

The Naval Reserve is an essential component of Maritime Command. Its primary function is to provide trained personnel to augment the fleet in emergencies. Another essential role is to provide and maintain naval control of shipping in time of emergency or war to meet national and NATO requirements. There are 16 naval reserve units in major Canadian cities.

3.7.2.3 Air Command

With the formation of Air Command on September 2, 1975 overall responsibility for Canada's military air forces was again vested in one senior commander to provide greater flexibility in the employment of air power as well as to increase operational effectiveness, safety and economy.

The command's principal function is to provide operationally-ready regular and reserve air forces to meet Canada's national, continental and international commitments, and to carry out regional commitments within the Prairie Region — Saskatchewan, Alberta and Manitoba.

Air Command, with headquarters at Winnipeg, consists of four operational groups: Air Defence Group, Air Transport Group, Maritime Air Group, and 10 Tactical Air Group. Air Command also exercises command and control over the air training schools and the reserve.

Air Defence Group (ADG), with headquarters at North Bay, Ont., is responsible for maintaining sovereignty of Canada's airspace. In addition, the group provides Canada's contribution to NORAD, the joint Canada-US North American Air Defence Command.

It has command of three all-weather fighter squadrons, a training squadron, two transcontinental radar lines, a satellite tracking unit and an electronic warfare squadron.

Air Transport Group. The Air Transport Group provides airlift resources to enable the Canadian Forces to meet their commitments. It also undertakes national and international tasks as directed by the government. The group